Great bustard in Oxfordshire

As soon as I finished college on Monday I headed out to the last known location of the Great bustard that has been hanging around in Oxfordshire for the past few days.

Great Bustards became extinct in the UK in 1832 but reintroduced onto Salisbury Plain in 2004 by the Great Bustard Group.

The Great Bustard (Otis tarda) is one of the heaviest flying birds. The male can grow up to 1 metre tall and weigh 16kg.

This particular bird has a pink leg ring and has been identified as a male from Wiltshire that has dispersed for its first winter. It will likely return to Salisbury Plain next year.

Although it was quite a distance across a field it was great to see it.

Links to further details about the Great Bustard in the UK

RSPB

Great Bustard Group

Get Your Boots On can be bought direct from Dived Up Publications

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, Blogging, Books, Environment, Get Your Boots On, Local patch, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Uncategorized, Wildlife, wildlife books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great bustard in Oxfordshire

  1. Lili says:

    Wow what a cool bird!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Billy B Ignob says:

    Such an unlucky name

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A good news story extraordinary bird!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Helen White says:

    Well, I’ve never heard of those before…will have to keep my eyes peeled here in SW Berks…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.