Surprise visitor to my local patch

Alexandrine parakeet

There was a colourful visitor to the village where I live today.

Easier to hear than to spot, this Alexandrine parakeet spent the afternoon flying between two hedgerows on the outskirts of the village, sometimes just sitting calling or at times being mobbed by crows.

Alexandrine parakeet

Ring-necked parakeets are a common sight in London. I’ve seen them in St James park but the bird today had slightly different marking, including red patches on the shoulders.

I’m not sure whether this is a captive bird that has escaped or a feral bird.

Ring necked parakeet from St James Park

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Animals, birds, Blogging, Local patch, nature, Oxfordshire, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Surprise visitor to my local patch

  1. Pingback: Surprise visitor to my local patch – Wildonline.blog

  2. Aww. Get a few around Birmingham too 😊👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  3. parsnip says:

    Hope the crows don’t hurt him. My family loves Badgers hope the massacre has stopped.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.