Mammal Week

National Mammal Week is organised by The Mammal Society and this year runs from 23 October to 1 November 2020.

Mammals have always been my favourite animals to watch and take photographs of.

I’ve been out for a walk around my local patch this afternoon and although the only mammal I saw was a grey squirrel, there were plenty of signs of mammal activity.

From the badgers digging out their setts to signs of Fallow deer, such as footprints and rutting stands.

This time last year I wrote a blog about our local fallow deer.

Whilst I haven’t been out with my camera much in the past few months I have still enjoyed seeing what gets captured by the Birdsy camera in my garden.

One of last years fox cubs still regularly visits to see what the birds have knocked off the feeder on to the floor and a couple of Muntjacs pop by most evenings (listen carefully for their chatter)

Over the past few months I’ve seen more hedgehogs than I ever seen. On one evening we had to stop the car to make sure this one got off the road and on to the pavement safely.

I also recently had the opportunity to be present when this badger was released back into the wild. He had been found in someone’s outbuilding very thin and with a bite wound. It was brilliant to see him all fattened up and running back in to a hedgerow.

If you like reading about the mammals on my local patch, there are many photos of them in my book Get Your Boots On which is available from Amazon

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Animals, Autumn, Badgers, Environment, fox, garden, Get Your Boots On, Hedgehogs, Local patch, mammals, nature, Nature Books, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mammal Week

  1. Lia H. says:

    What a great post! The fox was so cute, and the badger video is very cool! I love reading your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.