Springwatch Unsprung, Day 2 – 30 Days Wild

Springwatch Unsprung is not something that I thought I would be writing about for Day 2 Of 30 Days Wild, but yesterday I had the privilege of being on the program.IMG_20160602_152957

I was on Unsprung to talk about wildlife photography. It was to encourage other people to spend time outdoors and how you don’t need an expensive camera to enjoy taking photos of wildlife.

I hope my photographs and blog show that you don’t have to travel far away from your own house to spot amazing wildlife, just a bit of time and patience.

Chris Packham also talked to me about some of my photos. I was warned that he would be quite critical, but he wasn’t as bad as I thought he was going to be.

I spent the afternoon with Maggie Aderin-Pocock walking around RSPB Minsmere taking photos and talking about wildlife. Maggie was extremely enthusiastic and took some great photos of a damselfly on her phone.

IMG_20160602_154200

One of the activities all the guests have to do this series is an art challenge. We got 10 minutes to draw a picture of Minsmere or something we had seen on the reserve. The crew were very strict and we had a timer set for exactly 10 minutes, no more. It was probably the hardest part of the day. Especially as my easel kept falling over.

IMG_20160602_151822

During the day I also got to meet up with Melanie. I have been friends with Melanie on social media for a while, and she has written a guest blog for me on badger skulls in the past, but this was the first time we had actually met. Melanie was setting the daily quiz on different animal skulls from her incredible collection.

IMG_20160602_161437

IMG_20160602_152933

It was a fantastic opportunity, which I really enjoyed. Everyone, throughout the day was exceptionally nice to me, helping me keep my nerves under control.

Maggie and Ruth made the whole day fun and entertaining, not forgetting full of chocolate.

IMG_20160602_191624

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_02

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, nature, Nature reserve, outdoors, RSPB, Springwatch Unsprung, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Springwatch Unsprung, Day 2 – 30 Days Wild

  1. I saw it last night – you were great! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sean Locke says:

    I saw you on the show. Well done. I was in the audience of the show last year, so you done one better over me there. You’re an inspiration for young naturalists everywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ljaynature says:

    What a fantastic opportunity, you were great. A brilliant blog and a brilliant photos

    Liked by 1 person

  4. wildlifekate says:

    Well done Alex and great to see your winning hare photograph praised by Chris!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. secretgirl5 says:

    Hi Alex, I saw you on the show and I found your blog so I’m now following! I really love your photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. secretgirl5 says:

    I love your blog and I am following, please could you follow my blog:
    http://secretgirlweb.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Review of 2016 | Appleton Wildlife Diary by Alex White

Leave a Reply

