30 mammals for Day 30 of 30 Days Wild

At the beginning of 30 Days Wild I took up the Oxfordshire Mammal Group challenge of spotting 30 different mammals in 30 Days, then recording them through their website

http://www.oxonmammals.org

IMG_0142

I realised right from the start that it would probably be impossible but I thought I would try.

The first few were easy, mammals I come across every day on my local patch. Rabbits, Roe deer, Muntjac deer, Hares and Badgers

IMG_0184

IMG_8879

IMG_0333

Roe deer

Muntjac deer

Muntjac deer

hares in tractor lines

hares in tractor lines

A few were more difficult, they were the mammals that I knew were on my patch but I only come across now and then, such as Fallow deer, the grey squirrel that sometimes visits my garden and a fox.

IMG_0315

Grey squirrel in my garden

Grey squirrel in my garden

2 fallow deer

Fallow deer

The ones that I least expected was the stoat and the weasel. I very occasionally see them quickly disappearing in to the grass verge, but on the 1st June I saw this weasel carrying a small rodent.

Weasel with prey

Weasel with a small rodent

A couple of days later when I was looking for the weasel again, I spotted a stoat carrying a baby rabbit in its mouth, at the time I wasn’t quick enough to get a photo, but this is a photo from the end of May when I saw a stoat running down the track.

IMG_0257

We have a wood mouse that lives in our bug hotel, a mole under our lawn and the trail camera often picks up rats around the wood.

One day when we were badger watching a rat popped out of a badger hole and ran over my mum’s foot. She is not scared of rats, but it made her jump. She screamed loudly and all the badgers panicked and ran back down their holes.

Wood mouse

wood mouse

The most exciting mammal, was the hedgehog. I had never seen a live wild hedgehog before. I had put the trail cam in the garden hoping to get some wood mice or the fox that sometimes jumps over the fence, but I got this hedgehog.

Overall I saw and recorded 14 different types of mammals on my local patch. I know there are more as I have seen bank voles and different types of bats, but unfortunately I didn’t see them during June.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. I am a keen amateur photographer using a Canon SX60 HS. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Badgers, Bug hotel, garden, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Rural life, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

