Owls and Arrow the Badger

Over the weekend I heard that a Short-eared owl had been seen on my local patch so early evening on Saturday I went to see if I could find it.

The field where it had been spotted is perfect for birds of prey, pretty much undisturbed, wide areas of rough grass suitable for quartering in search of small mammals and quiet a few posts to watch from.

I watched as the Red Kites, Buzzards and a single Kestrel finished off their hunting for the day and started to perch in the trees around the edge of the field.

Shortly after, I spotted a solitary white bird gliding backwards and forwards across the field, a few centimetres above the tips of the grass. I forgot about the Short-eared owl for a while as I watched the Barn owl hunting. Every so often it would sharply turn, dive and disappear in to the grass.

Voles make up 90% of a Short-eared owls diet and 45% of a Barn owls.

Right at the back of the field I noticed a larger brown bird moving in a similar way to the Barn owl, it was the Short-eared owl. Unfortunately it stayed right over the other side and as the field is private property I had no way of getting closer.

I’ll visit again soon and hope that the SE owl is hunting closer next time.

IMG_6067-001

IMG_6055

IMG_6082

IMG_6084

I have had the trail camera out over at the nursery sett recently trying to find out what has happened to last years Badger cubs.

Arrow, one of the females, is spending time there and if you look closely it looks like she has been suckling cubs.

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Badgers, birds, Blogging, mammals, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.