Follow a trail – Day 11

 

For day 11 of 30 Days Wild we followed the trail of a fox. We crawled on our hands and knees through bracken and nettles, under brambles and over fallen logs.

We found discarded meat and an old rabbit skull.

I could smell one of the foxes which must have passed through moments earlier.

Fox poo illustrated to us we were on the right trail and tufts of rabbit fur and scattered pigeon feathers indicated the way.

Deer footprints and badger snuffle holes showed us foxes weren’t the only ones to use these trails.

After around an hour and covered with stings and scratches, our knees dirty and hair full of twigs and leaves, we were rewarded with the beautiful sight of fox cubs playing.

P1020119

P1020117P1020114-001IMG_0236P1020110

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Animals, Blogging, fox, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Follow a trail – Day 11

  1. New Moons For Old says:

    Terrific bushcraft, lovely photographs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ramblingratz says:

    To find a fox, you have to think like a fox! Beautiful images 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jo Watkins says:

    Before the land behind my garden was cleared foxes left their cubs in my garden for a while in the evening when they went foraging. They would come back every 15 minutes or so to check on them. I spent hours watching them. When the cubs were a little older they would come into the garden during the day while I was working there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.