Afterschool

It’s nearly a month since Winter Solstice and it is definitely more noticeable that the sun is setting later.

This time last month the sun was setting around 3.45pm. Today it set at roughly 4.30pm. This has meant that I can start getting in a bit of photography after school.

The woods are starting to react to the slightly longer, if not warmer days. The Bluebells shoots and primrose leaves are beginning to break through the leaf litter.

The hazel trees are full of bright yellow catkins and small buds are appearing in the hedgerows and on the trees.

Even the birds are beginning to be a lot more noisier.

Last week I was really please to be awarded runner up in BBC Wildlife Magazine’s blogger awards 2017.

local-patch-award

BBC Wildlife Magazine Blogger awards 2017

This week I’ve been getting ready for the Big Garden Bird Watch

https://www.rspb.org.uk/get-involved/activities/birdwatch/

I’ve added a few more feeders and cleaned the old ones out. I’ve been trying different foods to attract different birds.

Bird table

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in birds, Blogging, Citizen science, Fungi, nature, Oxfordshire, photography, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, winter, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Afterschool

  1. Tony says:

    2017’s runner-up in BBC Wildlife Magazine’s blogger awards might yet become 2018’s winner. Keep up the excellent work.

    Best Wishes

    Tony Powell and naturestimeline

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on the award, well deserved!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, you photos are amazing! I am glad you have more time after school. Congratulations on the award!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lost blue says:

    your photographs are amazing !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.