Garden Wildlife – Part 10 Badger faces and tails

I quite often get asked how I individually identify my local badgers. It isn’t the easiest thing especially this time of year as I haven’t seen them as much over the winter and new wounds and marks appear.

I’ve had some time to go over footage from the last time I had my trail cameras out at my local sett.

Firstly I look at their faces.

These are three different badgers. It is easy to tell the one with the damaged ear in the bottom two photos but not so easy to see that the top two are different badgers again.

Once I’ve looked at the faces I then look at the tails. Some have fluffy tails, some straight and thin.

Badgers often hang out with certain other badgers in the clan. This is an archive piece of footage

 

Some badgers are tolerant of other wildlife, while some are not.

This is another archive piece of footage

 

I use a similar method with visiting foxes but also using the length of their black socks.

If you don’t have visiting badgers or foxes to your garden, you could try identifying individual birds such as wood pigeons, blue tits or blackbirds.

I find it easier to take photos then compare the photos side by side.

 

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Animals, Badgers, fox, Local patch, mammals, outdoors, Oxfordshire, Stay Wild, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildlife, Wildlife photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden Wildlife – Part 10 Badger faces and tails

  1. Pingback: GARDEN WILDLIFE – Wildonline.blog

  2. Pingback: Garden Wildlife – Part 10 Badger faces and tails — Appleton Wildlife Diary by Alex White – PerchSpective

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.