Appleton Wildlife Diary is 5 years old today

When I started Appleton Wildlife Diary 5 years ago I never imagined that I would still be writing it 5 years later.

Over the past 5 years I have had some amazing wildlife encounters, met some inspirational people and been involved in some great projects.

I must admit sometimes it has been a chore, I love the photography but going home and writing about it is harder, but then something inspires me and my enthusiasm is back again.

I’m passionate about getting other kids interested in wildlife and showing people that fantastic wildlife can be found on your Local Patch when you step outside and look, so I’m really pleased to announce that I have written a book about UK wildlife, for kids and teenagers, to encourage interaction with nature and to hopefully inspire more people to explore their Local Patch

The publishing contracts have been signed, but it will be 2019 before the book is on sale.

I just wanted to say thank you for all the support and the advice from everyone I have met over the past 5 years.

Thank you for all the social media follows, retweets, likes, shares and comments.

Stay Wild

Alex

 

About Alex White - Appletonwild

This is my diary of the wildlife where I live in Oxfordshire, and sometimes the places I visit. My passion is for British wildlife, especially Badgers and Hares. This year my debut book "Get Your Boots On" was published I am a keen amateur photographer. All the photographs on this blog are taken by myself unless stated otherwise. I am a member of A Focus on Nature, the network for Young Nature Conservationists, BBOWT, The Oxon Mammal group and The Oxfordshire Badger Group. You can also follow me on Twitter @Appletonwild Instagram appletonwild
This entry was posted in Animals, Badgers, Birdfair, birds, Blogging, Books, Every child wild, Local patch, mammals, nature, outdoors, Oxfordshire, photography, Springwatch Unsprung, trail camera, Uncategorized, Wildflowers, Wildlife, Wildlife photography, Woodland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Appleton Wildlife Diary is 5 years old today

  1. Excellent – bravo for igniting that spark in young children.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Drew says:

    Congratulations from an old Canadian guy just over 5 times yor age! You are an inspiration that lets me dispair slightly less about where things are headed – good on ya!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Tony says:

    I really meant core “values and roots” in the above.

    Tony

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tony says:

    Stick with what you’re good at, Alex. Keep doing what you’re doing, and don’t let any of that fame go to your head, lol. Good luck with your book, continual good luck with the blogging and with anything else that heads your way in the future. The best naturalists are the ones that stay true to their core roots.

    All my Best Wishes,

    Tony Powell and naturestimeline

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fabulous post and congratulations Alex! Wow a book!! You stole my idea šŸ˜‰šŸ˜‰ Just kidding. Very exciting – who is publishing it? Very happy for you.

    Dara

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You’ve earned all the praise and awards. Keep going.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joturner57 says:

    Congratulations Alex on your 5th anniversary! Looking forward to hearing more about your upcoming book. Keep going… you inspire old + young…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Annie says:

    Well done Alex, and keep up the good work. If only the internet and blogging had existed when I was your age, I would have been able to follow my chosen career from a much earlier age.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congratulations! I look forward to hearing more about the book when the time comes.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. jusdreamin says:

    Congratulations on your book!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Congrats! Happy Anniversary! šŸŽ‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Happy birthday to your blog! Well done! Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.